Help in creating a "Guess the Gibberish" filter

I’m an intern working on a filter to promote a product on Tiktok. We want to create a filter similar to the viral “Guess the Gibberish” filter from a few years back. I was able to create the filter in another program, but I am having trouble replicating it in Effect House. Basically, we have a pool of “gibberish” phrases and their corresponding answers. After a 2-second delay upon video recording, we want the gibberish to display on screen for several seconds with a countdown timer, then disappear and show the answer, and we want at least 5 rounds of different random phrases. I’ve figured out how to do one round, but in the successive rounds, my answers get mixed up even though I have the image files named the same between gibberish and answer. I would also like to program the phrases to be random without any repeats during a recording. I’ve been trying to build this from scratch, but would it be easier to start with a template or modify an interaction such as the “Tap Screen to Cycle Image Textures”? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

5 Likes

Hey! I will be happy to give a hand would you please message me for more info?

2 Likes

Hi there! I see you’re working on a “Guess the Gibberish” filter and having some trouble with multiple rounds and randomization. Here are some steps and tips that might help you:

Steps to Create the Filter

1. Start with the Randomizer 2D Template:
  • Open Effect House and select the “Randomizer 2D” template. This template is ideal for creating effects that display random images or text sequences.
  • You can find a detailed tutorial on how to use this template here: 2D Randomizer Template on Effect House
  1. Import Your Images:
  • Prepare your “gibberish” phrases and corresponding answers as image files. Ensure that the images are of the same size to avoid errors.